400: An Afrikan Epic

“The real struggle has been since Africans set foot on the continent, an affirmation of the value of one's self.”  - August Wilson 

The year 1619 marks the widely regarded beginning of the Transatlantic slave trade and the first time in world history where human beings were legally treated as common chattel. From then until 1865 the American legal system regarded imprisoned descendants of Africa as less than human and upon the legal end of federally sanctioned trafficking of human life, the humanity of Africans in America was much in question. 

Dr. Lomax ambitiously tells the story of Black America over the course of a 12-album cycle to be released in 2019. 400: An Afrikan Epic is divided into thirds and explores thousands of years of the history that is pre-colonial Afrika, the Ma’afa (the 400 years between 1619 and 2019), and Afro-futurism expressing a vision of what Blacks in America will heal toward in the next 400 years; a healthy, high functioning, and united block of the African diaspora. 

The project also includes a website that will allow the global community to connect with 400 artists and their various areas of creative expression. 

With 400: An Afrikan Epic, Lomax celebrates the resilience, brilliance, strength, genius, and creativity of a people who continue to endure while offering an inspired view of the future. 

Release Date: 1/23/19
Format: Download/Stream
Catalog #: CFG2019112
Suggested List: Black Art Musik
File under: Afro-Chamber Musik

400 Years Cycle

Alkebulan: The Beginning of Us 
1)  The First Ankhcestor- celebration of the Drums importance to Afrika 
2)  Song of the Dogon- portrait of a mystical ethnic group in West Afrika 
3)  Orishas- music inspired by the Yoruban spiritual tradition 
4)  The Coming- Musical depiction of crossing the Atlantic 

Ma’afa: Great Tragedy 
5)  Ma’afa- remembering to forget and forgetting to remember 
6)  Up South- portrait of racism in America 
7)  Four Women- tribute to important Black women 
8)  Tales of the Black Experience- overview of Afrikan history 

Afro-Futurism: The Return to Uhuru 
9)  Uhuru- creating a future through healing vibrations 
10) Ankh & The Tree of Life- culturally relevant spiritual belief systems 
11) Afrika United- paramount to becoming… again 
12) Spirits of the Egungun- spiritual, cultural, political return to Self

Schedule a Program

Beginning in 2019 Dr. Lomax will schedule performances of selections from the 400 that will also include opportunities for audience participation. Together the performance and discussions will engage students, faculty, staff, and artists in conversations, not just to educate, entertain, and inform, but also to inspire and uplift the human spirit through the power of music. This program has already been presented in part at Denison University, Penn State University, and The Ohio State University with great success. To discuss possibilities for performance please contact Dr. Lomax at info@400AnAfrikanEpic.org.
Click the Photo to Watch 400: An Afrikan Epic Video

Click the Photo to Watch 400: An Afrikan Epic Video